Becoming A Red Letter Christian

Struggling to Live Out the Words of Jesus

Reputation

leave a comment »

This year I have taken some hits. My reputation among some of my fellow Christian brothers and sisters has been called into question. I even met with one of them, discussed their concerns, shared my reasons for doing what I was doing, and even made myself available to help them in their efforts. But just as I suspected, it was not a genuine request. Although I have made myself available, they have refused to even acknowledge my presence in their meetings.

In the past 2 weeks I have come across a couple of churches that are more concerned with their reputation than they are about partnering with the greater Christian community. I don’t get it. The reason that I struggle with this stance is this:

Did Jesus ever worry about His reputation?

I read the words of the Gospels and I wonder why churches would worry. I have my own theory, but I welcome your’s.

Written by joeldiaz

December 1, 2011 at 11:49 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

